To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

As the good old cliche goes, "when you are in Rome, do as the Romans do," it is understood that the Romans can be expected to behave in a manner that is represented by the city of Rome. These words imply that city of Rome reflects the characteristics of Roman Society. Is it true in the present modern world? The answer is ambiguous because Rome now consists of people from various different religions which consists of different societies. These people migrated due to various factors like better opportunities of jobs and many more. Thus it is now difficult to study the most important characteristics of a society by studying its major cities.

On the contrary, these characteristics could be better understood by studying its villages and smaller cities as these characteristics are still preserved in these areas. In the past, the major cities of any civilization or society were the economic, cultural and political centers of that particular society. These cities reflected the true characteristics of the society that they were a part of. However, due to rapid developments across the globe, now most of the major cities of the world are almost the same. This is because there has been an intermingling of various societies with people traveling far and wide in search of careers and better homes. Any major city of the world would now consist of people who may have varied origins.

Can a study of Paris help in understanding the true characteristics of the French society? The answer to this question would probably be a "No". This is because by virtue of being the fashion hub of the world, Paris now the home of designers, fashion models, garment manufacturers who have their roots in some other country. Therefore, a study of Paris cannot be relied upon for giving accurate information about the French society.Moreover, over the years, there would have been inter-race marriages leading to a new generation that does not carry the traits of the societies of either of its parents. On the contrary, small towns and villages situated in the countryside of France will give you an idea of the characteristics of the French society as these townships would be consisting of French people who have been able to retain their traditions through the generations.

In sum, it is definitely true that a study of the major cities of any society helps in understanding the characteristics of the society. However, this may not necessarily be true in the modern world where the characteristics of a society are probably limited to its rural areas.