TO UNDERSTAND THE MOST IMPORTANT CHARACTERISTICS OF A SOCIETY, ONE MUST STUDY ITS MAJOR CITIES.
From the dawn of the civilization, the society, its moral , arts , attributes all have been linked with their major cities.
Throughout the history we have seen many rise and falls of civilization and their societies; and many of the information about
how they were , how they thought and their peculiraities can be attributed to their works on their major cities.
So it is reasonable to state that major cities are pivotal to understand about imnportant characterstics of any society.
Societies often defined as the group of social individuals , how they co-exist with their morals and arts is often a
fascinating subject of study. As we have evolved through time it has ever been more important to understand the most
important aspects of our society both of the past and the present.
one major way to do so is study about their major cities because more often or nor that is the place we are going to
find our treasures. Many historic cities have been built in historic times by then prevailaing socities. For instance, we
can take Rome for and an example. Rome alone can strip out the major information about the Roman civilization.
The Roman societies were known for their skills in arts and wars which is reflected by Rome. The famous monuments , sculptures,
And even the dresses tells a lot about their technological prowess and how ahead they were of their time. Similarly the
famous arenas shows their predeliction towards warfares. And the famous quote "Rome was not built in a day" explains the persistancy
towards excellence of the roman societes.
Similar is the case of Famous Athens city of Greek societis Spartans as they called themselves. They were known for their
famous gods like Zeus, Thor which is demonstrated by the big and well reverd statues of them in the heart of Athens. They were
diplomatic , ahead in politics all of which can be traced from their famous cities.
This is not the case of mere past. It is prevalent in the todays world and societies. The Kathmandu valley which is major
inhabitants of Newars . Major information about the Newar society is enlighted by the valley itself. The famous temples built
in Newari sytle, The famous newari songs that is still heard in kathmandu city. The famous Newari khaja. Every bits and
pieces in Kathmandu valley reflects thousands of information about the newari society. And so will be the case in future.
The major cities will continue to cast lights on their societies.
However, sometimes what we see in the major cities are just the mirage of the society. They do not represent the whole socity
but merely the rich and the well off ones. Pyramids of gaza is one of such example. Egypt society as a whole seems so well
ahead in terms of development and eqaulaity seems to be the case , but in real scenario, Egypt was a society ruined by
slavery and discrimination.
In a nut shell, we can justify that major cities indeed gives some major information about the prevalent societes as in
case of Rome, Paris and many other famous cities. But we cannot rule out the case as sometimes the major city could not even
be 1 percent of what the society is or was.