To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The study of major cities of a society to comprehend the most important characteristics might seem valid because the major cities of a society might give the glimpse of the entire society. It might seem that a country is driven by its major cities.

In this modern world of globalization, people migrate across the world, usually to the major cities of a society. So, the major cities these days, have global elements. The major cities give the glimpse of the degree of acceptance of global elements to the society and these cities keep renovating themseleves to cater the needs of these global elements. Consider the example of the capital of Indian society, New Delhi. This city scales from the poor to the richest people of the Indian society, displays core Indian food to variety of global cuisines, showcases a variety of clothing- from the traditional lenhengas to jeans and skirts, has a variety of markets from Chandni Chowk, which has a myriad of shops on claustophobic streets to the biggest mall of Asia.

Also consider the financial capital city of India, Mumbai. To understand the economy of India, one might be tempted to explore Mumbai, but the fact is that Indian society heavily relies on agriculture for its revenue and therefore, to understand the economic characteristics of the Indian society, exploring a village is a far better option albeit Mumbai or any other major city.

On the other hand, the fact that major cities serve an important role in a society can't simply be overlooked. These major cities provide a global outlook to the citizens of society. Also, the trends in the major cities dominate the entire society. Reconsider the example of Mumbai. The entire Indian film industry and tv industry which is based in this city is leaves trails for a majority of the population of the Indian society.

The major cities might give a vague understanding, or sometimes even a false understanding of a society due to globalization. But to escape the chances of elude comprehension, the interior cities of the society should also be explored.