To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The study of major cities of a society to comprehend the most important characteristics might seem valid because the major cities of a society might give the glimpse of the entire society. It might seeem that a country is driven by its major cities.

In this modern world of globalization, people migrate across the world, usually to the major cities of a society. So, the major cities these days, have global elements. The major cities give the glimpse of the degree of acceptance of global elements to the society and these ciites keep renovating themeseleves to cater the needs of these global elements. Consider the example of the capital of Indian society, New Delhi. This city scales from the poors to the richest people of the Indian society, displays core Indian food to variety of global cuisines, showcases a variety of clothings- from the traditional lenhengas to jeans and skirts, has a variety of markets from Chandni Chowk, which has a myriad of shops on claustophobic streets to the biggest mall of Asia.

Also, the fact that major citites serve an improtant role in a society can't simply be overlooked. These major cities provide a global outlook to the citizens of society. Also, the trends in the major citites dominate the entire society. Reconsider the example of Mumbai. The entire Indian film industry and tv industry which is based in this city is leaves trils for a majority of the population of the Indian society.

On the other hand, consider the financial captial city of India, Mumbai. To understand the economy of India, one might be tempted to explore Mumbai, but the fact is that Indian society heavily relies on agriculture for its revenue and therefore, to understand the economic characteristics of the Indian society, exploring a village is a far better option albiet Mumbai or any other major city.

The major citites give an overall understanding of a society due to globalization. But to escape the chances of elude comprehension, the interior cities of the society should also be explored.