To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Studying major city of any country gives a complete overview of its society. However, some characterstics are prone to change. If one needs to have an overview of the society it would be a good idea to start with major city. But, for a much detailed and correct analysis, peeking through major city is of little to no help.

Major cities generally experience people from multiple diffrent ethnecities, maybe because of the job opportunities it provides or a better living enviornment. These people carry with them their vareigated culture, traditions, tastes and delicaces to the major cities. Mumbai (finance capital of India), inhabits people from various diffrent part of India. People turn towards mumbai for job. One may see west bengali's, Rajasthani's, People from north india living together. One can even see sweets distributed during diwali. Hindu's congratulating Muslim's brothers on eid. Thus, a positive quality of brotherhood can be seen if one visit Mumbai.

However, major cities has numerous diffrent culture and it becomes difficult to contemplate its vastness and variety, in its pure form. It is highly probable that one might miss out few good characteristics of the society when answering to these multifarious ethnic culture. One might also, pick away a negative traits as a chractersitic which might be too minute to even comprehend for its inhabitant. Furthur, People travelling to major cities tend to loose their roots from the places of their origin. Generations after generations people tend to pick up chracteristic that is native to where they live at present not where they originally belong to. Thus, analysing only major cities would not give a overall important chracteristic of the society specially when we look at a country like India. With its vast diversity, and huge landmass it becomes difficult to study social traits only by looking at major cities.

To sum it up, major cities might be a good way to start looking into important characteristics of the society. As major cities tends to host a vast number of people from a diverse population sharing the same space. However, traits changes on the basis of traditions of host city rendering it incompatible for a complete overview of the society.