To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Society is formed by the people residing in cities as well as in rural areas. It would be unjust to say, that only major cities can shed light on the important characteristics of a society. Due to globalization, all major cities in the world have almost become the same. In fact, studying villages and small towns might give a deeper insight into the societal characteristics. Hence, I stand against the assertion of studying major cities in order to comprehend the important characteristics of a society.

World has come closer due to advancements in the field of technology. People have traveled far and wide in search of better careers and lives. Folks from varied societies and cultures are concentrated in the mega cities. It is, therefore difficult to study the characteristics of a particular society at a place, where many societies have amalgamated. Be it Paris, London, or New York, studying only these major cities will give an incomplete knowledge of French, English, or American society, as it is impossible to segregate people based on their ethnicity.

A society's deep rooted traditions are still found in the rural areas where most of the people belong to the same race. Culture is not only preserved, but religiously followed. It is in villages, where one can dig out the core occupations of a society. In a country like India, where almost 70% of the population resides in rural areas, one can get to know everything about the society by studying those villages.

Conversely, I do agree, that some of the aspects of a society could only be known by studying its major cities. For example, political backdrop is mainly set in the cities where parliaments are present to tackle the problems faced by a society. Coming to he educational front, reputed universities ans schools have their presence in big cities. In that way, intelligence factor of a society can also be decoded mostly in the cities.

To recapitulate, considering the present day world, studying only major cities might keep us oblivious to some important aspects of a society that can not be understood without analyzing the people in rural areas. Society as a whole, is a blend of people residing in villages and cities. Snubbing one, would never give a clear picture of any society.