To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.2

It is said that a chain is as strong as its weakest link. A society is much like the chain. To know the most important of characteristics of a society it must be observed in its extremities. One can never know if a society will withstand the challenges to come in its way if one never tries to investigate how a society behaves when its pushed into a corner. And major cities most of the time bring forward these extreme conditions. So to understand the main characteristics of a society major cities must be observed.

To further explain this concept, let's look at the world population. Its been increasing exponentially since the beginning of mankind. At one point, the world will come to a point of overpopulation where societies will have difficulties in surviving. To prepare for this time, the main characteristics essential for it to thrive must be examined. But the future condition of overpopulation is not uniform. To examine this characteristics, smaller areas must be selected where these extreme condition of overpopulation and other such extremities have already began. And major cities are the most suitable of place where these studies can be performed. For example, Dhaka is the capital and a major city of Bangladesh. The city already reflects what the country will be facing in the near future. People migrate to the city for economic reasons and since it is a major place for migration of people from different classes, Dhaka has created in itself a concoction of different societies.

To further reflect on this, let's elaborate on what the different societies might be. For one, it can be the societies of the rich. There are also slums, a different kind of society of the poor. Furthermore, there are societies which is made up of middle class families and bachelors. All these types of societies thrive together in overpopulated space with a very high population which brings diversity to the city. Other major cities such as Hong Kong, New York show similar characteristics. This diversity, overpopulation and lack of space robs the people hence, the societies of its right for economy and standard. Thus, people are forced to compromise. These compromisation comes in different forms. Bachelors are forced to share a 2 person room with 4 individuals, a middle-class family is force to dwell in tiny spaces, slums are way below the minimum standards of hygiene.

In these extremities, the individual societies show their true colors. They may stand up to the challenge or crumble in the weight of compromisation. For example, dwellers of a particular slum were provided houses to live in so that they could empty the slum in order to provide the space that could be utilized for further development. Instead, the slum dwellers rented the houses they got from the government to other individuals and stayed at the same place refusing to evacuate the slum. This is a result of the deprived economic condition that a society faces when it is pushed to a corner.

The rich and the middle class people are bypassing tax so that they can live a life where they won't have to compromise. This particular situation is a result of the distaste toward the government who is unable to provide the people with proper facilities.

These same situations maybe different in other societies which thrive in a completely different environment where people don't have to compromise much because they live in a less populated environment such as the small beautiful villages of France and Italy. Where people pay taxes and abide by the rules of the government. But those do not reflect the true nature of the society because studying those will not be sufficient to prove if they will thrive in the near future.

The main characteristics of society are those that establish a point of view from where it can be inferred if the society would thrive in the future or crumble like a stale bread out in the sun. In major cities the conditions for these extremities arrive in small doses before the world sees the same fate in the distant future allowing mankind to prepare for what's to come. For this reason, to know the main characteristics of a society the major cities of the world should be studies first.