To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Society plays a fundamental role in our life. Every single person makes a society. Nobody wants to live in isolation, he needs some group of people around him. Every group or society have some moral values, this resides every corner of the world. Throughout the globe, every country has their own culture, traditions, ritual, religious values. In my opinion, if you have to observe characteristic of a society, one should study its metropolitan cities.

In major cities, you can taste different variety of traditional food from many vendors. Even many tourists come and try various kind of dishes. Along with that, they also enjoy another type of foods. New york city is the example of diversity. There are many immigrants came from Asia, China, Russia, Mexico, Pakistan, Bangladesh, German that accumulate in one city.

There are also many colleges and universities in metropolitan cities. The universities have multicultural students across the world. They stay in hostels and know different languages, their traditions, rituals and much more. Students participate in college cultural programs and represent their culture by dancing, singing etc. However, in small cities, they do not have multifarious students either. In addition, the university is not in a position to give fund to students and organize the cultural functions.

If you have to observe the proper old traditions then one have to go to small cities or towns. There are many farming traditions that follow in a countryside. Like in India, when a farmer buys a tractor, they wrap red thread and pray in front of the vehicle. They also make some sweet dish in a home and also distribute to neighbors. Apparently, these small traditions you can look at small villages. On the other hand, people are much religious than major cities, they follow proper rituals which came from our ancestors.

A person should understand the society in metropolitan cities, there are multifarious people which follow different traditions, culture, food etc. They lived in the same city and hence they know each other’s moral values. If we look at Farming cultures, rituals, religion etc then one should observe in small villages instead of major cities.