To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

It is truly said that if you want to study the characteristics of any society, study its major cities. History is evident that every ruler has created and developed cities in its kingdom to depict the strength of its society, a trend that is still in existence. In today’s era development in a country starts from its Major cities and then spreads to other parts. Political revolution too originates from power centred cities.

First, whenever we study the characteristics like the way of life of the people of any civilization or society, we refer the history of their cities. For example, when one reads about Indus valley civilization, it refers to the history of Mohenjo daro and Harappa which were the major cities of that civilization. Archealogists found well planned township of that era with proper sanitation, which tells us that people of that time were well acquainted with urban planning. Similary, remains of universities and several sculpture also tells us that people of that time were scientifically sound and possessed knowledge in arts and crafts.

Second, socioeconomic development in today’s world also starts from major cities in a country. For example, the advent of commercialization of technology can be traced back to California a.k.a silicon valley in USA. Somewhere after mid of 20th century semiconductors and software became the key to future and gave rise to big companies like APPLE, HP, Oracle. Slowly the american society moved towards a more technological advanced society and everybody looked towards the silicon valley as the glut of technology. Even today startups tries to build its base in the silicon valley.

Third, major cities holdsthe ground for power struggle in a society. For example, in 2014 Delhi the capital of India, choose Aam Admi Party as its ruling government. The result surprised the whole country, even Delhi. Political pundits argued that the citizens were tired of age old politics of cast and reservation and that they needed something new, they needed development and corruption free governance system, which was the agenda of Aam Admi party. The result forced every political party to take development and anti corruption as its agenda in every elections after that.

Clearly, any traits or characteristics (whether it is historical, political, technological) of a society can be found from its major cities. In future also, new and major trends will arise in cities only before spreading in other parts of the society.