To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With the developing of transportation and information technology, the distance between countries has been dramatically shortened and the world has become a global village. People have more opportunity to immigrate to any corner of the world and to receive information of different place. What is the better choice for understanding the main characteristic of a society. the main city or the other side? To know a society, the major city is more important.

Therefore, we can discover the city is like a miniature of the society and the city can well present the society. Taipei is the most important city in Taiwan. When people try to learn about Taiwanese society, people always select Taipei. The reason is that this city collects immigrations from every place of Taiwan and concentrates the Taiwanese culture, economy and so on. Therefore, Taipei can be seemed as the essential representative of Taiwanese society.

Surely, the main city collects and concentrates everything from everywhere, but the problem is that city means it is a port to accept the foreigner culture from the contact with other society from this world. In this global village, it is unavoidable to have the interaction of the world. Thus, the interaction may gradually change the city to have a totally different face from the society. Hong Kong, today, is a significant city in China. Being an opened city, Hong Kong contact everything which comes from the whole world and, now, Hong Kong is more like a modern European city, but does not show the main characteristic of Chinese society. In other words, people will not to know about Chinese society by study Hong Kong.

In the opposite of the above statement, the interaction may change a city,but the change is also shows the vigor of a society to accept new things. And if one society does not make any change, it is also one of the characteristic. Therefore, we can know, the willingness to change of a society. From the history of the American society, we know it is an immigrating society and the main characteristic of an immigrating society is the ability to accept new things. New York is directly associated with the America. Although some people argue that New York cannot represent the American society due to the multiple culture of New York, the multiple culture of New York can show the character of the result of cultural mixture of an immigrating society. New York can well explain the ability of accepting new things of an immigrating society. Because the American society is an immigrating society, New York can represent the America.

The last example can help to support that the main city is important for understanding a society. When people learn about Italian society, Rome must be the attention. It is the cradle of Italy. Because this city reflects the history of development of Italy, it shows the history, art, culture and so on. No one denies the connection between Italy and Rome. If a city which includes the history, culture or even the economy of a society is not important, we might need to reunderstand all the studying of every society.

In conclusion, because people prefer to immigrate to cities, cities can be seemed a miniature of a society. Even a society may change by interacting with other society, the change explains the diversity of a society. Therefore, the main city is important for understanding the characteristic of a society.