To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The term society in the above stated issue has a broader sense in that the author is attempting to describe a particular sub-region of a country. So any region is judged on the basis of certain characteristic feature. The author has promulgated that the most essential qualities of a society relies directly over the major cities that are contained in that society. This statement can make different sense in vivid perspectives based on the qualities that are ascertained as important. If all these qualities are influenced by urbane life style then the author's statement is fairly obvious but if not then more insight would be required to define the most important characteristics of a society.

In a general context, it is fair to claim that vivid factors like industrialization, transport and communication, business stock exchanges, information technology, vegetation, ascetic beauty, tourism, flora and fauna can belong to the set of most influential characters that describe a society. We can see that major proportion of the above set of elements can be described from the urbane culture.

When we consider the major cities of a society it is implied that we are referring to the urban culture. In an urban culture, the prospects of stock exchange(business), marketing, information technology and sky scrapers play a vital role. These are the sectors of a society that provide major contribution to the employment opportunity and economic growth of any society.

Also, a major factor that determines the significant growth of any society is the transportation and communication system. This refers to how well the major cities are intra connected and inter connected with other cities of same and different societies. Evidently, even though a society might produce large quantity of resources, it's effective usage is dependant on the transportation of the goods from producer to consumer. This factor is also assessed only by an urban perspective.

Though vast characteristics of a society are determined from major cities there are also certain important factors that must be analysed only from the smaller cities or villages like agriculture, aesthetic beauty that attracts tourism, vegetation of the region. They also come under the influential factors of a society that cannot be determined from a urban perspective.

Conclusively, it can be restated that most of the major qualities of a society can be extrapolated by observing the major cities of the society. But there exists few qualities that is solely affected by small cities and villages. Big cities and small villages can be considered as two sides of a coin, each though contrasting but both are surely influential.