To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Admittedly, there is a general belief that the major cities of a society portrays its characteristics hence the saying; when you go to Rome behave like the Romans. However, i believe that the most important characteristics of a society can be understood by studying its rural areas and/or small cities where the essence of that society is yet to be affected by several factors such as modernization and immigration. Various examples can be drawn from different societies around the world.

Nigeria for example, is a diverse society comprising of several ethnic groups coming together to form a nation. In order to understand the most important characteristics of this society, a proper study of the various ethnic group is needed. This entails understanding their behavioural attributes, their art and culture, their customs and religious beliefs, their occupation, and so on. All these information can be obtained, undiluted, from the rural areas. The rural areas of these ethnic group are mainly inhabitted by the people from that ethnic group. Living with these people and studying their way of life will give a vivid picture of the most important characteristics of people from that region. When this study is carried out in several ethnic groups in the country, then the most important chracteristics of Nigeria as a society can be understood. This cannot be said about our major cities like Lagos, Abuja and Portharcourt. These cities though high in population, comprises of people from different part of the country, and even immigrants, who have been been influenced by modernization and westernization. Most of the country's infrastructures, businesses and tertiary institutions are located in these cities, which could account for the high population. A study of these cities will only show a society full of hustling and bustling, no communual life and living in a manner handed down to us by our western colonial masters. These characteristics are not reflective of the true Nigeria which has a rich cultural heritage, diverse religious beliefs, great communual life, just to mention a few. Therefore to understand the most important characteristic of a society like Nigeria, a study of its rural areas are required.

However, the United State of America is a society where this statement might hold true. To understand the most important characteristics of this society, a study of its major cities is required. The United State of America is a developed society where people can decide to live either in the small cities or major cities based on different reasons other than development. For a society not so diverse in culture and beliefs, a study of its major cities can lead to an understanding of the most important characteristics of the society. These major cities are usually higher in population than the smaller cities. New York for example, is a major city with people who majorly believe in liberalism, same sex marriage, woman rights, gender equality and so on. Florida on the other hand is a major city with a deep religious beliefs. Therefore a study of these major cities can lead to an understanding of the most important characteristics of the United State of America as a society.

Italy is another example where this statement might not hold true. A study of Paris which is one of its major cities cannot give you an understanding of the most important characteristics of the society. This is because this beautiful city, known world wide for tourism and fashion is populated by tourists and fashion designers from different countries around the world. A study of this city will only give you the characteristics of people from different parts of the world and not that of the italians. Hence to properly understand the characteristics of Italy as a society, a study of the small cities and probably some of the major cities that are not flooded with immigrants is required.

Therefore, I believe that to understand the most important characteristics of a society, a study of its rural areas and/or small cities is required. Nigeria and Italy are examples of societies where studying the major cities may not show a true reflection of the important characteristics of the society. However, societies like the United State of America might provide a ground where this statement might hold true. Hence, a blanket statement that may or may not be true is an invalid statement, so i disagree with this statement.