To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The speaker believes that in order to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. While conceding the utmost significance cities enjoy in modern world, I strongly believe that the speaker has underestimated the uniqueness indispensability of suburban and rural areas to a society.

Cities have a short history compared to the scope of human civilization, first existing towards the end of the Renaissance era. And they have had an unpropitious start: early cities were poor and filthy, where less fortunate class squatted and contagious diseases spread. However, after several centuries changes and development, cities nowadays are the face of a country. For laymen who wish to know more about a foreign country, getting to know its major cities is the quick and easy way. For instance, say we let two foreigners whose only impression of the U.S. is from several Hollywood movies to live in the center of New York city and a farm in Missouri respectively for the same amount of time, guess who would have a deeper understanding of the American society? Definitely the New Yorker. The reasons are as followed.

Firstly, major cities are a hodgepodge of people with different background from different part of the country. Thus, while each village, county or state may have its distinct ideas and customs, a metropolis can reflect the ethos of an entire country combined, offering a comprehensive view. For instance, a reporter in, say the Welsh city Blackpool, will most likely predicted a definite “leave” before the result of the UK referendum came out, while his or her counterpart in London could adopt a mixed attitude based on the opinions of different classes of people and their percentage of the population.

Secondly, major changes of a society take place in major cities. For instance, the riot of occupying Wall Street took place in New York, though it reflected the collision between classes all over the country. Yet a man from more remote states would feel less strongly about the event, regarding it more as a news story, as it was not happening at home.

For these reasons, foreigners often easily replace the image of a country with the image of its major city. For instance, Paris has nearly become the synonym of France, and the qualities of Paris: romantic spirit, artistic sense and fashionable designs, etc. have then become the qualities of France. However, other provinces of France vary vastly from Paris, while the important features of the country, such as a long tradition of prestigious mathematicians, highly-developed agriculture and heavy industry and top-notch nuclear technology are often omitted. In this case, observers of the French society will obtain a faulty result if their object is Paris alone.

For professionals who study the outlook of a society, it is also far from adequate to look only at the major cities. In large developing countries such as China and Brazil, the gap between cities and rural areas is egregious. Shanghai and Sao Paulo, for instance, are as modernized as Los Angeles and Tokyo, yet even their neighboring provinces can be largely under-developed. A comprehensive study including all distinctly different parts of the country is then required. Some intellects have long figured it out. For instance, Anton Chekov, the renown Russian novelist, realizing that his comfortable life as a medical doctor and a writer in Moscow was not sufficient to understand his motherland, whose sovereign reaches the edges of the Eurasian continent, and its vastly different people, traveled extensively in Siberia with a deliberately tight budget to really dig deep, hence the birth of several of his masterpiece novels.

To sum up, although major cities provide a relatively comprehensive image of a country, in order to study the country, it is never enough to metropolises only.