To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With the development of human society, cities have become a hub for economy, politics and culture. Studying major cities is imperative for us to understand a society. However, that is not the whole story. We should always bear in mind it is in the countryside that most civilization originated, the study of which can absolutely be a valuable perspective in understanding a society.

Foremost, cities are name cards of a society. By studying the many aspect of people's city life, we can attain a wealth of information regarding to a particular society. Needless to say, the life of city residents reflect the economic might of a society, especially in developed countries. Cities are typically centers for innovation and scientific research, so achievements made in cities can realiably indicate the latest progress made. In addition, many cities also stand out as a place for fine arts, where the exhibitions and galleries are the best one can find. Take New York city as an example. Everyday millions of tourists from all over the world visit the metropolitan in the U.S.. Walking on the streets of New York, people can easily discern the characteristics of U.S. society, like its openess and diversity.

In addition, the development of cities provide a record of the development of society. It is well-acknowledged that cities are the fruit of Industrial Revolutions. Therefore, by studying the birth and growth of cities, one can track the progress of population migration, economic growth, industrialization and the concomitant change in people's thoughts, beliefs and attitudes. These stories are indispensible in understanding the modern history, and studing cities become even more valuable with this historic perspective.

Nonetheless, cities do not present the whole picture of a society. For less developed countries, people's living in the countryside may better represent the general standard of living. What is more, many traditional art and customs are hardly preserved in cities for multifarious reasons, but they can still be observed in rural areas. Villages are a historic book of a society, which also provides much information necessary for understanding a society.

In conclusion, cities and villages present diaparate aspects of a society, and studying one of the two alone can only lead to biased conclusions. In more developed socities, it might make sense to focusing on major cities, while in poorer societies villages and countrysides are definitely more informatics. Importantly, in any society, both cities and villages are a inseperable part of society, thus cannot be negated when studing a society.