To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This statement gives an absolute choice to understand society: to study its major cities. However, it can be more convincing and reasonable if it categorize human societies when considering this topic. And once we do that, we can see clearly that only studying major cities is insufficient for understanding all human societies.

For the well-off societies such as those in the developed countries, most of the populations live in cities. Therefore we can observe the most representative culture and lifestyles in metropolis. For example, in the United States, a country that is industrial based and originated from cities, the most important values and cultures are best presented in cities like New York and Washington. By studying these cities we can learn the creativeness and efficiency of this melting pot. For most of the affluent societies in the world, big cities are the essence of their characteristics.

However, when it comes into developing countries, the condition is different. Many of these countries are not completely urbanized, and thus, their features lie not only in the major cities, but also in smaller cities as well as in rural areas. Take China as an example. Because of the long agricultural history and the nature of being developing, Chinese society is complex, and its characteristics can be found in both urban and rural areas. In fact, many critical issues in China such as the Spring Festival travel and the stay-at-home children are derived from rural rather than urban part of China. In such case, focusing only on the cities cannot depict a whole picture of Chinese society.

Despite the variety of society type, how to define “characteristic” can also influence the outcome. If we take it as the developmental status of a society, we can infer that from the major cities. However, what makes a society distinctive from others is its culture and sub-cultures. Thus, observing major cities can only get part of the cu