To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that best way to understand the most important feature of a society is to research its major cities. I fundamentally agree; however, it is important not to overstate the importance of research major city in understanding characteristics of a society.

In many cases, major city represents the characteristics of country. Major cities lead the trend of business or economy and even technology in their society. For example, New York City leads the economy and business of U.S.A. Moreover, cities in Silicon Valley are pioneers of technology innovation. Thus, if someone want to understand economy, business and technology of U.S.A, one can study these major cities representing characteristic of a society. Yet, the research of major city can help understanding feature of a community but there’s some limits in this way.

First, major city can be the small part of the society. Major cities are not necessarily representing the characteristic of whole society. Thus, the characteristic of major city might be only intrinsic phenomena of local community. For instance, Pyongyang is a major city of North Korea. In Pyongyang, most people enjoy their life because most of them are upper class. However, in other cities in North Korea, many people are poor and starve, so they are unhappy. Research of Pyongyang will not give any clue to understand North Korea.

Second, the characteristic of the city was formed effected by both characteristic of society and characteristic of local community. Thus, it is difficult to distinguish what is the characteristic of a society with the research of major city. Of course, research of major cities can give you a characteristic of a society. Yet, it is not necessarily important feature of society. It can be only trivial feature of a community.

In sum, to understand the characteristic of a society, research of major city has important roll, but for further understanding relationship between major cities and whole society must be thoroughly considered.