To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

From times immemorial, the study of a society, contemporary or of the bygone era fascinates many. I believe that in order to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study it most important cities. The major cities will most likely represent a chunk of the population of the society. It will also reflect the prevailing economy, culture, environment conditions and political atmosphere. Moreover, we can find a link to the non-major cities of the society. Focusing the study to limited geographical regions will also increase the quality of our study to comprehend the trends of the society.

A major city of the society will depict a population which is a conglomeration of the several smaller cities. Studying various aspects of this diverse population will reveal the significant features of the society as a whole. Any major city of a society will have a stable, sustainable economy so a better grasp of the economic conditions can be done by studying the major cities. Also, the different cultures will be more pronounced in the major city. Being a major city, it would have trade across various cities and towns. Hence it would be easier to find a reference to other cities and their characteristics as well. Nonetheless, it would be easy for us to focus on selected cities and go into the depths of their characteristics rather than squandering our time and effort in studying all the cities of a society.

Contrary to the above mentioned facts, we might miss some aspects of the society which might be popular in a non-major city. There might be cities which are self-sufficient and have no relations with the major cities at all. In this case, there is a possibility that we may overlook important characteristics of the society in our study.

Taking into account the above mentioned concerns, I believe that any particular practice which is important in some non-major city would only represent a dying characteristic of the society in its evolution and cannot be termed as the most important aspect of the society. Moreover, if a city is self- reliant, self-sufficient and self-sustainable, it would eventually be marked as a major city because the population would love to move to a place where there is stability and happiness. Even if it does not become a major city, it would find reference in the history of the major cities as great examples. Hence there is a slight possibility that we might miss them in our study of the major cities.

Pondering over the stated issue at hand and carefully examining the pros and cons of it, it can now be concluded that the most important characteristics of a society would be understood by studying its major cities since these would represent and reflect a picture of the society as whole.