Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The modern cognition has indeed involved into thinking that an appealing image is more important than reality or truth. The availability of internet is only empowering this thinking. For several reasons it can be averred that contemporary society is giving the image more importance, than it should get.

To begin with, it has become very important for today's society to have aura of felicity. Walk down any street and you will find many people taking their own photographs in front camera, even in trite situations, while buying vegetables, shopping, or even when taking a brisk walk. All of this only for the sake of their online profile. We surely know where this photos are going to be posted.

In addition, the internet and smart phone applications like Facebook, twitter, Instagram and SnapChat are facilitating this kind of behavior. People have gone more busier than ever in staging their life online, they never realize that with such behavior they are missing the reality, the moment they should be living in. For instance, several accidents and mishaps have been reported on daily basis, while taking "selfies". This is the limit of idiotic behavior.

Moreover, there are several repercussions giving the self image more than required importance. Psychologists have confirmed that positive response from other people to this evanescent self image, releases Dopamine in our body. The chemical known to make us feel better, its effect is same as that of drinking alcohol or smoking cigarette. Because of which people get addicted to this blasphemy and lose the interest in reality. Take for example, most of us have friends who post on SnapChat as if they are having an amazing time, while in reality they might be suffering from intense problems.

However in contrast to the statement, it is important to have a respectable image in society, it drives personality traits like self esteem and satisfaction. People with low self esteem are susceptible to having psychological problems. That is why novel and inspired self appraisal is suggested.

Conclusively, having an image is important for healthy survival in society, but giving into it and living life only to flaunt it in front of others is censured. One shall always remember that the existence in reality is what we actually are.