Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

In 21st century a successful person is when he is multi talented or multi faced person. This requires an eclectic system of education. University is place of higher institutional and research center where we gain knowledge in a concerned area. This invokes that each student should take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

When taking courses outside one’s concerned area, it broadens knowledge. For instance, due to the ubiquitous nature of the internet nowadays the concept of Internet of things has emerged in the field of computer science which involved programming and communications. When a computer student takes up a communication elective this helps to gain a depth knowledge about the area.

In addition to the above, it also helps in career opportunities. A freshman or a sophomore may be not well versed on the careers to take. Studying different courses apart from their field helps to gain perspectives in various academic arenas.

From the view above, the bottom line from this passage is that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study because it broadens knowledge, gives employer the preference to select the person from the gain of the eclectic system and also gives a clear picture if the career opportunities lying ahead.