As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

As the advance of technology, the ways people get the information and knowledge go through a significant change. Although this change provides several efficient tools for people to get knowledge and information, the overloading information and knowledge may cause decline of making a judgment and make event more complex than ever. According to my personal experience and academic research, I believe that too much knowledge may cause thing more complex and mysterious rather comprehensible.

Based on the psychology research made by the Daniel Kahneman, in his book “thinking fast and slow”, he mentioned that overloading in people’s brain would cause significant decline on judgment. For example, the most interesting experiment in this book showed that the judgment of participants with overloading in their brain is similar to the guess while they were asked designed question. In the other words, while people acquire more knowledge, it is reasonable to expect the loading of their brain would reach higher degree. Inevitably, while people have to ruminate serious thing, they have to withdraw memory from their brain, this process causes significant decline of their judgment and makes thing more complex.

Acquiring the knowledge from the Internet has become the prevailing and common way in modern society. However, due to the property of easily transporting, the credibility of knowledge and information from the Internet is not always reliable. For my personal experience, while there was a popular issue about signing service agreement between China and Taiwan in 2014. Many people worried about the negative impact came from signing this agreement with China by legislative Yuan. There was a wild spreading advertisement on the Internet showed that the cost for living in Taiwan. Although this redoubtable advertisement had been proved a fake, it really stirred up fierce argument. Hence, from this event I deeply learned that a myriad of information or knowledge, especially shown in the conflicting way, would make thing more mysterious and incomprehensible.

However, Some people holding opposite position would aver that more knowledge would provide people broader horizons if the knowledge has been carefully organized. For example, in the book, “Justice”, written by Michael Sandel, he organized many important and relevant concepts made by previous philosophers, like Kant, Bentham…etc, with certain issue. Therefore, esoteric and complex concepts become very unequivocal by illustrating several relevant issues to discuss in this book. But without carefully examining the credibility of knowledge and diligently organizing the knowledge, it is hard to be not confused with several knowledge and information.

In conclusion, after analyzing the consequence of acquiring more knowledge, it is reasonable that more knowledge would make brain be overloading if people don’t organize their knowledge well or examine the credibility of information. Hence, it may be safe to arrive the conclusion that things would become more mysterious and complex as people acquire more knowledge.