The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and s

The authorities are formed so as to regulate the society and drive it towards well being. In absence of such authority people might act on their own and in ways that will just benifit them, which might not be benificial for society as a whole. However, it is not necessary that the authority will always act in a way to push societies towards well being.

It is possible that some issues that are not visible to the authority need to be addressed for well being of society. These iasues might be visible to common people as they face them every now and then. eg. the deteriorating quality of water. The authority might be in perception that they are doing a good job at providing water, but they might not be knowing that the quality is getting compromised. In this case the people can raise their voice, quesion the authority, and get the issues resolved.

Further it might be possible that the authority is biased towards some views while taking some important decision related to society. If people quesion these decisions, there are high chances that the decision will be taken in an unbiased manner which is very important when you consider well being of society. eg. a minister from technological background would like to invest the funds in improving the technology, but it might not be the current requirement of society. in such case people can question the desion and make sure that the important needs of the society are addressed with the funds that are available.

In addition to this, if we consider the authority is doing a wonderfull job at serving the society and no one is questioning it. there is a possibility that the authority might turn stagnant and will lose its effectiveness over the time. If people keep questioning the authority will be active and will continuosly strive for more effectiveness.

Also, when people question the authority and authorities responds to them and act upon them, people get the feeling of responsibility towards societies well being. Because, they think that they are part in driving the society towards well being.

Therefore, if authorities are not questioned they might ignore some imporant issues of society, might take deciesion against well being of society and might turn stagnant over the period of time. Hence for well being of society, it is important that many of its people question the authority.