When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement claims that modern development should be prioritized over the preservation of historic buildings. I strongly believe that it might be true or not true because it depends on the condition in which both of them should be compared at first before rashly concluding an argument. In order to determine whether it would be better to build modern buildings by replacing the old buildings standing on the ground that the builder think is the best place, we need to consider several things at first including the history value of any building that we want to demolish, the possibility if the old buildings that we want to replace with new and modern buildings can be found anywhere, as well as the urgency and the importance of the new building we want to establish and, of course, the possibility to find other places instead of the place in which the old building stand firmly.

To begin with, it cannot be disputed that many old buildings reflect the history that we cannot change throughout our life because the old buildings could be a symbol of our country, our religion, or any hero ever led our country prosperously. Furthermore, take, for examples, Borobudur and Prambanan Temple situated in Yogyakarta, one of the most populous city in Indonesia. The locations in which those buildings stand are very well-suited if we demolish the building and replace them with metropolitan mall or any modern market building since the location is very close to the most density area in which people have high interest in shopping. What’s more, because of its large area, it could be also harnessed by establishing more buildings important for education purpose since University of Gadjah Mada, as one of the most prestigious university in the city also want to expand the education area. Despite the importance of the development of this modern building and development, in fact, Borobudur and Prambanan Temple are the world heritage that even attract many foreign tourists that could increase the income of the local people as well as the country as a whole. By demolishing those old temples, there will be many drawbacks come into effect, particularly the economic for the local residents who usually sold unique things and local foods.

On the other hand, the purpose of building more advanced buildings could be also beneficial if, actually, the old buildings that we need to replace are unoccupied and have no historical meanings. In the same token, if those old buildings can be visited in the other places, it would strengthen the goal of demolishing those old buildings and establish modern buildings instead. As a result, the modern development that reflects the well-being of society might be achieved with new and lucrative modern buildings, facilities, and development.

Turning to the third point of this essay, before concluding whether it is viable and recommended to replace the old buildings with the new ones, we should deliberate at first which one should be prioritized in the first place. If the modern development is urgent and there is no more place suitable to build the new and modern buildings, while the old buildings only have no or few benefits, then building modern buildings would be convincing. Take, for instance, perhaps people in a city are very difficult to commute around the city because lack of transportation facilities. And, after thorough analysist, the best place to establish the terminal that could attract people because of its convenient location is the place in which the old buildings which are unoccupied stand firmly, then it would be prudent to prioritize the option to build modern buildings referred to terminal rather than the old buildings which have substantial benefits.

To put it in a nutshell, the option to build modern buildings will depend on the condition if we want to replace the old buildings with the new ones. Before rashly making a decision, it would be wise to compare the benefits of replacing the old buildings with the new ones, because it might be possible if, in fact, the old buildings are part of world heritage and reflect the leadership and national or culture value. However, if on the other hand, the old buildings have less benefit than the modern buildings have, then the option to establish the modern buildings that could be lucrative for society would be convincing and need to be prioritized in the first place.