Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Though it could be true that Palean basket were not uniquely Palean but in making this argument author make some unwarranted assumptions which can be argued. Author fails to mention several key factors, for example author fails to mention what he meant by unique. Whether he meant unique in terms of shape or size or process in making the basket. There are many lack of details which makes the author’s argument not so very cogent.

For starters, author does not specifically mention to what extent the basket found in the Lithos is similar to the one found near Palean village. Whether it is similar in terms of shape, size, texture, etc. we can’t tell for sure. For all we know it could be type of basket endemic to the Lithos region only and comparing it to the Palean basket is totally unacceptable. And even if it is similar to the Palean basket, this in no way to tell for sure that it belongs to the Lithos region. It could be given to the Lithos people by the palena people. Due to this author’s argument seems little farfetched and the argument would have been much clearer if it explicitly gave some specific details about the basket found in the lithos.

Secondly, in making the argument author assume that only Palean people were likely to travel long distances and and didn’t mention travelling habits of the Lithos people. As mentioned above there is a possibility that Lithos people visited the Palean region and took back some of the Palean baskets with them while returning. Or Palean people would have given basket to them as a gift or token.

Additionally, author assumes that for crossing the Brim river palena people only used boats and there is no other ways to cross the river. What if palean or lithos people were technologically advanced and built a bridge over the river for conveniently crossing the river. And archeologist didn’t find any brigde cause it got damaged due to some natural calamity or got withered away naturally over this long period of time and the traces of the ruins were carried away from the site by the flowing river.

And finally, author based his arguments on the fact that there were no boats found. In the argument he/she failed to mention where they looked for the boats, whether archeologist searched for the boats near the palean region or near the lithos region. If they failed to find any boats in one region then this is not incontrovertible that they will not find any boat in other region. And even if they looked for the boats in both regions and could not find any boat doesnt mean there were no boats present. In ancient times boats were generally made by using woods and wood can deteriorate completely when exposed to natural conditions over a long period of time. May be this is the reason archeologist didn’t find any traces of any boats.

So the author concluding that Palean basked were not uniquely Palean is flawed in many ways due to the lack of supporting evidences and has no legs to stand for. It could be strengthened if the author clearly mentioned the relevant facts.