Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is said, youth defines and writes the future for tomorrow. It is indeed true that youth should target a long-term, realisitic goal rather than seeking a goal possessed with instant fame and recognition. A long term goal not only horizons the welfare of self-being but also contributes in upbringing of society and nation. Also, given exceptions, it must not be ignored that targeting an immediate aim does not help in promoting overall prosperity, provided undertaking a rational and benevolent goal.

A long term goal sheds a light on existing issues and tends to eradicate them as well. When a young mind undertakes a challenge or rather a pertaining issue and is able to fathom and solve, he/she is termed as an inspiration in our society, later resulting in as astounding entrepreneurs. This reflects they are diligent, have ability to take risks, audacity to challenge self and even propose new ideas. For example, Microsoft founder Bill Gates and late CEO of Apple Inc. Steve Jobs, as a young mind, proposed numerate out of box ideas and were able to establish a small firm which later went on to be the biggest cell phone and computer manufacturing and selling company in the world, provided the path they took was filled with several obstructions and challenges. In addition, Hans Zimmer from Frankfurt, Germany and A.R.Rahman from Chennai, India, both were predetermined to learn music from an early age. Today, they are the pioneers of modern music industry and have managed to be persistent in producing some of the best musical melodies ever composed.

Setting a goal filled with recognition does not certainly means taking a short-term goal. Sure, there are temporary perks which are yielded by such goals, but these certainly do not provide human satisfaction and inner peace. Examples, famous golfer Tiger Woods was inspected and pleaded guilty in a scandal which led to abomination of his career. Los Angeles born Shia LaBeouf, starred in one of the best science fiction movie series, Transformers, was accused for assaulting his neighbor with a deadly weapon for a trivial reason like blocking his path with his car. It can be concluded that fame played a major key role in destruction of their career and coined them as notorious celebrities.

But having fame is not every time negligent or heedless. Stating an exception, Lebrown James, a famous American basketball player from Cleaveland, helped almost 800 children to graduate from high school. Similarly, a young popular band, One Direction, set various concerts and collected almost $340000 in support for cancer. Hence, having fame depends on one's self attitude, weather to continue with a superfluous path or to undertake a benign one.

Thus, a long-term goal surely helps to benefit the human world, provided the goal is rational. Similar case is with the individual undertaking taking a fame packed path. It is often said, the biggest challenge about success is the ability to keep quiet. Thus, it may be a long term or short term goal, the results and ramifications ultimately depends on attitude and behavior of the individual undertaking the goal.