climate change is now an accepted threat to our planet, but there is not enough political action to control excessive consumerism and pollution. do you agree ?

I disagree with that statement that political action or goverment regulation is not enough to control excessive consumerism and pollution rate. Actually, United Nation in UNFCC have a political regulation called Kyoto Protocol and REDD which are ratificated by more than 245 country, and the member of Kyoto protocol is developed and developing country around the world today. The biggest factor of climate change is energy utilization. Many countries always want to increase their good output like GDP, but they forget to increase GDP they have to produce bad output too like CO2 emission. We know that CO2 is one of the biggest emission to make the climate change come soon. So, it has any environment regulation to keep their emission stabil.

Kyoto protocol is the one of the United Nation declare. Such G20, G20 consist of USA, UK, France, Russian, China, India, Indonesia, Australia, Saudi Arabia, European Union, Canada, Germany, Mexico,and etc. They already make a signature in protocol which declared that they have to keep their emission during GDP increase. If they do not keep their emission rate in UNFCC target, they should pay to UNFCC and banned from international trading, and that's international regulation works. Many developed countries try to make their emission rate more efficient than before. China was the one of the developing countries and now it is one of the developed country in the world. China in 2005 was the biggest pollution maker of the country after USA and Australia, slowly but sure in 2010 China could make their emission rate more efficient, and Kyoto protocol works for Canada and Mexico also.

It means, even there is so many county doing energy utilization to increase their GDP such as make a huge industrialization, household waste, or from vehicle, if the world have a consistency to keep the earth and not to make heat of globalization which can cause climate change, the pollution rate and massive energy consumption can be delayed. Suggestion for this problem is, the goverment may can start to use a renewabe energy than unrenewable energy for their development and make a good habit to their citizen for more being economical when using an energy in their life.