The development of technology changes the way people interact with each other. In which way does it change the types of relationship between people? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that, the development of technology have change the way in which people communicate with each other. In the olden days, people might still depend on letters or phone in order to reach or interact with people who are far away from them. However, now with the development of many sophisticated gadget and the availability of internet there seems to be no boundaries in communicating with each other even in other countries. This development however brought a negative and positive impact in people’s relationship.

Relationship between people can be affected with the intensity and the way in which people communicate with each other. It is no doubt that technology now have successfully act as a medium to connect people therefore improving the relationship between people in many ways. Firstly, with the availability of internet and advance social media such as “facebook”, it allow users to find back their old friends enabling them to communicate with the people that they have not long see. Apart from that, technology could also strengthen the relationship between boss, leaders with their fellow worker. For instant, in the olden days,people may depend on post mail to send messages, typewriter to type formal letter or in other occasion, would wait for a mutual time and venue in order to organise a meeting which all these may take up time to get done. However now, technology has allow them to type messages, send mail via email or even organising meeting using video conferencing which only take a split second to get done.

On the other hand, development of technology has brought its own drawbacks towards people’s relationship. People are now becoming dependent on technology. For instant, people nowadays would constantly occupied, worrying about their phone especially during social meeting thus reducing social contact between their peers. Not only that, people now have the tendency to update “status” in facebook projecting and sharing their emotions, happiness, anger or even sadness which can cause conflict and misunderstanding towards other people. Children on the other hand can be seen to prefer playing online games rather than going out and spend quality time with family hence reducing the bond between them. Lastly, technology has allow people to develop an “online” business which make people nowadays to prefer shopping from internet rather than going out shopping with friends.

In conclusion there is a convincing argument that the development of technology not only bring a positive influence but a negative one. In my opinion, users should take the advantage where technology can improve their relationship with others and at the same time know the limit that they can cause conflict between peers.