Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agr

Globalization and growth in technology helped mall culture to spread to some countries. Some people believe that this trend will destroy local business as well as local communities. Up to certain extent I agree with above statement.

First of all, some people argue that supermarkets and shopping malls help today’s generation to experience international brands. Besides, people can get all required products at one place which saves their travelling time and cost. Further, many shopping malls have separate entertainment and fun zones where people can spend their leisure time while doing shopping. So, even though at the end these products cost us more than local markets, most people, especially youngsters enjoy this culture.

On the other side, local shopping markets heavily rely on local communities for raw material which is the main source of income of these communities. Therefore if government avails permission to open malls in such areas then it would create stiff competition. AS we all know that supermarkets mostly offer popular brands at reasonable price, local products in the end disappear from the market. For instance, in developing countries like India and China, many communities have lost their local business because of the expansion of mall culture.

Moreover, products made by well known companies are more attractive and cheaper than the product offered by local traders. Even though in long run locally made goods provide more durability and value for money, most of us prefer branded products because of the variety and various discounts provided by supermarkets. For example, during festival seasons in India, malls and supermarkets avail lucrative offers which hit hard on local business.

In a nutshell, supermarkets and mall culture are indirectly throwing out local product out of the market. So government should provide proper platform to local communities and at the same time expand mall culture at suitable places.