Financial education should be mandatory component of the school program To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

In 21st century, money management becomes one of the important parts of our life. Some people think that schools should include these lessons as part of their coursework so that children can get better idea of financial sector. However, up to certain extent I disagree with above statement because students should teach some other important subjects which are more useful than financial education in their age.

To start with, some people argue that nowadays money management is more important to survive in this competitive world. So it would be better for children to learn these lessons in school itself. Moreover, when they make real entry in the world after finishing their graduation this experience helps them to manage money effectively. It supports them to build their bright future and improve overall growth of their career.

On the other side, I believe that children do not have sufficient maturity to understand complex terminology of finance. Teaching those lessons on subjects like economy of a country, financial planning and tax management are totally ineffective for their overall development since, in this age they do not have such mature brain. Recent study in India shows that, many students from standard 1 to 7 do not have ability to solve simple multiplication and division sums.

Secondly, today students also have extensive education burden on their shoulders. Apart from this, they also require to fulfill their parent’s expectations. In such a high pressure, if schools teach them economy lessons then it will create reverse effect on their mind. These types of subjects distract them from other important subjects and as a result their overall growth will gradually decrease. Furthermore, I think that schools should focus on fundamental subjects like languages, history, science and mathematics which provide platform to build their career.

In conclusion, I think that for children, financial education is less important than other basic subjects in schools and it is better if we teach them these lessons in the college.