The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to reduce the amount of violent crimes in the society. Do you agree or disagree?

The issue of whether government should control the amount of violence in films or TV in order to reduce the criminal rate is of great concern for many people.

Some people insist that the violence in film or TV gives detrimental effect on youth which should be banned by government. Firstly, young people are not able to distinguish right or wrong due to lack of real life experience. As juveniles are not fully educated, they may imitate a fight scene or violent behaviour on TV, result in crime commitment. Secondly, violence in films or on TV arouses aggressiveness for people in all ages, which makes them become desensitised to violent crimes. TV programmes are flooded with violent scenes nowadays, as consequence, people start to regard violence as commonplace. Once those programmes are restricted by government, audience are no longer neglect violent crimes.

However, there are some other people such as film producers hold the opposing opinion. They believe that their productions are true to life. Compare to conceal the fact that violent crimes are actually exist in daily life, reveal the unpleasantness is educating the public and depicting reality. Besides, those violent elements are just to make the films more stylistic and thrilling and have nothing to deal with the increase of criminal rate. Thus, it is not necessary to control or reduce the amount of violence on TV or films.

I actually agree that the amount of violence should be limited because TV programmes have great influence on people. A large amount of violent scenes on TV may mislead people to commit crimes.