Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic and pollution problems are upward trends in this day and age and are considered as serious issues. While some people agree on increasing the price of petrol as s resolution, I only partly agree with this statement.

On the one hand, raising the petrol price would partly address environmental problems. Firstly, this would help to cut down on emissions since there is a huge decrease in the number of private cars and motorcycles. This measure will also help to cut down on trips. Still, people need to go to work or school or they crave long journeys during vacation; therefore, they would need to pay more, maybe pay through the nose, for petrol to go. They, otherwise, have to change into short trips to compensate for the price of petrol. Secondly, raising prices will result in an increasing demand for public transport; hence, the government must upgrade and expand public transport provision.

On the other hand, national and local authorities could take many measures to stop these raising problems. First of all, the government could adopt policies to use public transport. Authorities should encourage people to use public transport which is much cheaper to avoid congestion as well as exhaust fumes from private cars. Secondly, some transport policies should be adopted as well. In London, for instance, there is a congestion charge, this charge therefore will be used to improve transport facilities. Furthermore, these policies would help decrease traffic jams, as well as decrease toxic emissions, and help to reduce air pollution.

In conclusion, while I partly agree the government could increase the petrol price to address increasing traffic and pollution problems, other measures can be adopted.