Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is true that the use of much fuel creates negative impacts to people’s life. While I agree that rise of the price of petrol is the viable solution for growing traffic and pollution problems, I believe there are other optimal ways to tackle these problems.

The reasons I agree with this statement because if the price of petrol experiences a severe upward, this will have some substantial impacts. Firstly, people will use public transports rather than private vehicles. For example, people go to work by bus or train which accommodates hundred commuters, while using private vehicles brings one-two passengers only. Secondly, people who spend their holiday around their home will not use their cars which produce more pollution. Finally, people who act economically are more likely to shop via online as a result of rising the petrol price

Alternatively, government should construct the laws of using private cars. An obvious example of this can be seen in Singapore where car with even numbers may pass the road in Sundays, Wednesdays and Saturdays, while other numbers can drive through the ways in other days. By doing this, the number of people driving private cars is a severe downturn. If there are no regulations of using private cars, the government should conduct car’s free day every week. For example, in Jakarta, people do activities in car’s free day by doing exercise and jogging which is no automatically car passing.

In conclusion, although increasing the price of petrol is necessary, the other ways are also needed to tackle these problems effectively. Where possible, I think the government and individual should be more extremely concerned to preserve their environment better.