Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

To solve the blowing traffic jams and pollution problems up, the rise of petrol price can be a golden way. I totally agree with this solution. Therefore, a high car tax can be the one of other best solutions.

Traffic jams and air pollution problems in big city are more serious problems. Some people are getting stresses, bad temperaments and being not on time in their activities due to those problems. According to this case, stakeholders in Indonesia, for example, give the rules in an effort to ease congestion, and announce that the price of gasoline will be raised in the early of next month. Consequently, some others will accuse this is the effect of increasing world petroleum price, but it is not really true, because the main idea of petroleum growth is to minimize the rush hour traffic and air pollution.

Another solution is raising private car tax. As we know, if the car tax becomes more expensive, people will think twofold to buy cars. They will move to use public transportations that have been completely supported by the government as a compensation for high car tax. In some countries like Hong Kong, this policy is successfully applied with wonderful effect. It can be seen in the Hong Kong’s main street, although Hong Kong is quite small, but there is no congestion. Moreover, most of Hong Kong people are more interested in using cheap public transportations than buying a private car which its tax can be down payment for that car.

In conclusion, rising petroleum price is a brilliant idea to limit the traffic jams and air pollution problems. Accordingly, the expensive of private car tax can be another key to fix the problems.