International sporting events such as the Olympic Games and the Football World Cup provide an outlet for patriotic feelings and help reduce international tensions To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion

A growth in national confidence and an improvement in international relations are provided by holding the global championships including Olympic Games and the Football World Cup. Despite the fact of uniting people worldwide, I believe that such events may cause political issues among countries resulting in controversial disputes at the universal level.

On the one hand, that kind of popular competitions requires massive preparation, which might take a long period and efforts from different nations to construct buildings, develop the infrastructure and modernize security sector. This procedure is often used to make a cooperation between countries since organizing such championships tend to be the main duty of the whole world. Examples can be seen in Russia, where the last FIFA World Cup was held due to the productive collaboration of neighbours. Further benefit of this tendency might be found in evoking patriotic spirit related to each individual, who desires the victory for the country he/she was born, rooting during the competition. This leads to strong support for people participated in those events because they are encouraged by their compatriots.

On the other hand, it is not a secret that all types of widespread championships are often used as an instrument of political manipulations. The aim of such agenda is probably to indicate the aggressive foreign policy of a particular country. Take, for instance, Russia once again, whose athletes had been prohibited to take part in the Olympic Games 2017 on account of several political factors. Thus, it makes clear that participating in global games can noticeably downgrade the respect of the government and nation.

To conclude, although international sporting events are likely to be beneficial in reduction of global tension, providing patriotic feelings, it might undermine political relations between counties. Therefore, it seems to me advisable to hold such championships properly without causing disputes.