It is important to ensure that children with a wide range of abilities and from a variety of social backgrounds mix with each other at school. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Multiculturalism, mixed ability classes and varied socio-economic backgrounds are a modern day reality at schools currently. This provides a challenge for teachers who try to bring all these elements together and students who try to fit into this environment. Some feel that it is relevant that children with different countries mix with each other in educational societies, while others argue with them. To my way of thinking, I choose both the views up to some extent.

To begin with, mingling the students with mixed abilities and different backgrounds will prepare children for the world of work. This will teach them that everyone is different from others and everyone has their own strengths and weaknesses. So that, the children might easily accept each other and they will benefit by learning knowledge from one another. Children from poor background will be benefit by gaining the knowledge from their classmates which improves their confidence and self respect.

On the other hand, co-existing might be problematic up to some extent. There might be a children who are cruel with others and are likely to tease or bully with others who are less fortunate than them. Also , the children with similar backgrounds may form groups and hang out with friends and they may also not interested to be with the students from other backgrounds. This may lead mental problems among the children itself.

By the way of conclusion, children will choose their friends based on their behavior, characteristics and personal interests. However, it would be helpful to children to mix up with each other as it makes them open minded, respectful and knowledgeable as well.