Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A crime is considered an act that only injures the specific victim, but also harms the society. Hence there are punishments to correct offender’s behavior. But nowadays, punishments and prisons are not leaving any positive effect on criminals mind. After serving their first sentence, they leave prison only to re-offend. I feel that this is because of lack of rehabilitation and counselling. There are number of solutions which should be implemented to deal with criminals who re-offend.

The first reason for most first-time offenders committing crime again is due to lack of rehabilitation. In prison, they usually mix first-time offenders with other criminals and offenders are not given a chance to retrain and learn new skills for their future, which strengthen their criminal intentions. Another reason for repeat offending is facing difficulty in finding employment after being released. As a consequence, they struggle with their finances which lead them to commit crime again.

There could be three effective solutions to this problem. One is teaching them some productive skills which ensure them a job after they served their sentence. With this they will able to reintegrate themselves back in society and able to support their finances. Another could be having more supervision on them when they are back in society. This will prevent them in taking chance again. Lastly by providing them some counselling on their anger management can certainly make them rethink in life of crime.

In conclusion, giving some training's and counselling to offenders can help them in dealing with issue. Also governments have vital roles to play in implementing these solutions in prisons. If governments implement these solutions, crime rate will drop.