Many people believe that women make better parents than men and that is why they have the greater role in raising children in most societies. Others claim that men are just as good as women at parenting.

In our previous generation, the father’s role in parenting was not that significantly important compared to those of roles of mothers. As the development of economy and a society, the role for parents has changed; especially women’s position became recognised working in a society. Therefore, in this generation, the roles for parents are equally responsible to raising children.

Women's role was used to be taking care of their child as well as doing the housework. The role for mother has changed significantly as the time spent with their children has reduced as the social responsible increases. During the industrial period, the women’s social position was not recognisable. The most of hours had spent to do housework and to take care of children by mothers. However, as the industrial revolution has replaced by the post-industrial society, as the supply for women’s position increased. As women’s position has widely recognised, the time spent with their children is reduced.

The society's position in female is not the only reason for the male to include in the unpaid works. Most of mother's role is by showing the care and love for their child. However, this is not enough in raising children. Thus, the father’s role is necessary.

Father’s role is as important as mother’s role. Their role was used to be support a family by financially and mentally but this trend has changed as the economic development. Father could teach children in an educational way such as to socialise with others by practising and exercising play roles. Furthermore, a recent research claims that, a child who spent the time with their dads has higher IQ and higher ability to socialise well with others, compared to other child who doesn’t. Father could develop their children’s health by playing physically.

The role for each parent is different. Mother’s role is caring for the child, whereas father is responsible for education and physical development of their child. Therefore, both parent’s roles are equally responsible to raise their child.