Sending children to boarding schools has become more and more popular, where children live and study from home (either abroad or in their own countries) is some countries. What may be the reasons? Is it a positive development?

It is true that today, there are more and more parents sending their children to boarding school either in outside country or in their own country. The reasons to this would be varied. Either they want to seek a good quality school for the children or they do not have time to look after their children. This trend however, could bring positive as well as negative impact to the children and parents. This essay intends to share some of the reasons.

As parents are faced with the challenging work life to meet everyday needs, some parents have shift into the trend of sending their children to boarding school for some benefits. Firstly, when children are sent to boarding school, they tend to meet a lot of new students from different background. In this way, they learn to communicate and exchange idea which could increase their knowledge and make them wiser. Not only that, children are required to be independent deciding their own time to wash dishes, cleaning their bed, laundry etc. This will hence trigger their decision making and therefore make them to be mature at young age. Next, some boarding school has provide warden and good security system to look after the well being of the children. In this way, parents are ensure of the safety and behaviour progress of their children.

However, boarding school could also bring some disadvantages especially in parents-children relationship. As children live in boarding school, they have less time with family which eventually can reduce the bonding between family. In addition, these children tend to grow and more familiar with their friends which will make them difficult to live with their own family. Lastly, as boarding school will shape children to be independent, not little that these children will choose to live alone at young age rather than staying with their own family.

In conclusion, as boarding school may provide may provide many benefits to the children as well as parents. In my opinion, parents should weigh the advantages and disadvantages before sending their children to boarding school. And if they already had, parents should then take the initiative to lessen the possibility that the school could cause in relationship between their children.