Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that some governments gain worldwide reputation on sport players’ excellent performance, and therefore they invest much money on training the athletes. I completely disagree with the opinion because I believe that authority’s major responsibility is to take care of citizens, and also put the residents in the country as first priority.

There are various reasons that servants in government should not continue to allocate money on players. Firstly, it is waste of money if the athletes lose the competitions in unexpected situations or if the races put off due to disasters or disease breaking out. For example, COVID-19 causes the Olympics sport competition in Japan not to hold in this year. Secondly, the expenditure on the facilities uses much government’s resource. The trainers need to prepare professional equipment and special fabric clothes, whereas many of them are tailor and not easy to get. Finally, some kinds of these glorious action would be used by politicians to show off.

If instead of spending money on specific person government should take action to make welfare to everyone, I believe that consequences will be more profitable. Building parks next to the river and constructing gyms in the communities are cheaper than that spending on specialized facilities on professional people. Moreover, the equipment for normal people are ready-made, there is no need to make effort to find. Besides, the facilities everyone can use can actually prompt the health of citizens, and bring them happy lives. With pleasurable people in the country, it can indeed promote our images in that way.

In conclusion, many countries and governments invest found on train players on races to win reputation worldwide, but I believe that constructing everyone can use would please residents and also facilitate the positive development.