In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Depending on the culture and traditions in some countries, adolescents are encouraged to work or travel between finishing high school and starting university studies. Such kind of activity is supported by both parents and community organizations. Being important this social phenomenon ought to be research particularly. However, in this essay, I shall lightly touch some of the reasons why young people should be interested by the vivid practice.

First of all, it should be noted, that curiosity and change of activity are inherent for a young generation. Starting to work or travel youth is detached from the usual way of life. Also they might estimate how the chosen job is attractive for them. They gain experience in dealing with different age and social groups. More of that, being work before their university study, they improve their skills in their profession.

Secondly, in this period, young people acquire such character traits as responsibility and confidence. They gradually lose their dependence on parents. Furthermore, if they decide to travel, they will have excellent perspectives to get acquainted with people who have the same interests that could be useful in future. Community organizations may be entirely efficient in those moments as well.

Nevertheless, the decision to remain at home for this period has the positive side. This is explained by the fact that the educational program of a high school is slightly different with the requirements that impose universities. Hence, it follows that adolescents will have more time to prepare thoroughly for the entrance exams.

In summary it should be noted, that to work or travel between finishing high school and starting university studies has both pros and cons. It is utterly valuable chance to make own future in youthful age and not to become “slave of circumstance”. However, the most valuable is the fact that at this time the family, friends and community organizations ought to help to find the best way to happy future for an adolescent.