In some countries young people have little leisure time and are under a lot of pressure to work hard in their studies What do you think are the cause of this What solutions can you suggest

In some countries the value of studying and working hard is retained fundamental not only for the young people but for the society too that will benefit in future of their competences. China for example, is famous for being very strict and rigid especially with children: even if the classes are overcrowded they learn fast and keep the rhythm since a failure would be severely punished by their families.

In fact, from school to home, young people receive a lot of pressure in order to succeed and the more they grow, the more parents control them: as consequence the leisure time is restricted to minimal levels, practically is absent. The causes for this behaviour, especially talking about this country, may be found in the awareness that they are a growing economic force having even overcome USA that kept the primacy for years: they are building a society based on efficiency and in order this method to be effective they start from the bottom with children and young people, spending money and resources on their education.

From my point of view, a country that imposes itself transmits wrong values to the society that lives there: I am not denying that work hard on studies is a good method to improve and make develop the country itself but sometimes there are many different ways to obtain the same result. Examples of efficiency are provided by North European countries as well: in Sweden education plays a so much crucial role that universities are free; however time for leisure to dedicate to other actives different from study is left to the students. In fact, doing something else is not a loss of time as China or similar countries can think, but helps the brain to focus on more different things and students feel free in a society that respect them.

In conclusion, my suggestion is to follow this trend in order to have civilized nations in which people are not oppressed by society but free to study but at the same time to dedicate their time to different activates.