Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, foreign language is one of prominent thing that people need in communication. As a young generation, children should know and understand more than one language. However, some experts argue that they should be taught bilingual language in primary school. While it is true, I personally believe that second language should be learn in secondary school when they have well preparation to receive foreign language.

Learning a foreign language in primary school encourage children to have strong basic foreign language. In Asian countries, for example, students study English in primary school. They learn about basics vocabulary, pronounce, and short conversation. As a result, student know the foundation of English language, and they can use in daily conversation. Studying foreign language can help student to build their basics, and they are easier to learn foreign language in the future.

Besides that, students who learn a foreign language in primary school will sharpen quick and strong memory. Result shows some proficient in linguistic find that school children can memorize more than 100 new vocabularies per a day. This can be concluded that if school children learn a foreign language in the first level, they can enhance their skills to remember and understand new words.

However, students in the early great school years cannot think more complex if compared with students in secondary school. For example, student’s ability in first level only cannot absorb advanced lessons, such as writing and reading which contain more complex rules of grammars and structures. As a result, they still get confused to write sentences well and understand the passage from reading.

Ultimately, learning foreign language in primary school has same benefits such as studying this lesson can help children to build their basic knowledge of foreign language and enhance their memory skills. However, the drawbacks for children, they still confuse to study complex lesson such as grammars and structures. Although learning second language in secondary school makes student to have well preparation to learn advance language, I would argue that foreign language should be taught in secondary school when they are ready to learn advanced and complex lessons.