Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays learning a foreign language is a controversial subject between parents and educationists. Some people are of the opinion that primary school is more proper than primary school for learning. In my estimation, this trend has more positive features than drawbacks.

On the one part, the introduction of a new issue, namely a foreign language has some disadvantages. First of all, some subjects such as mathematics, science, literature, and so on, in order to the development of fundamental knowledge and further study are coercive for younger learners. Hereupon, new compulsory course will create a magnificent pressure on the pupils. As well as this, children are immature in terms of mental and may be unable to distinct their mother tongue from the other language. Consequently, this inability will give birth to cognitive problems in between learners.

On the other part, we are living in a competitive world and learning a foreign language will be beneficial in the progress of societies. Researchers have shown that persons at lower age have more suitable capacity for learning, specifically they are very ready to perceive the pronunciations and the intonations of new language. In addition, recruiters in most parts of world select candidates with bilingual and multilingual skills. As a result, parents admonish their kids to learn foreign languages particularly dominant languages like English, French, German, Japanese, and something like that, at early ages.

One can draw the conclusion that, the benefits of a foreign language are much more powerful than disadvantages. Establishing a useful balance between curriculum in primary school will give rise to favorable results both families and communities.