In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Often times people’s behavioral pattern is decided by their social status which are the noble families tend to get more prestigious positions then others. Therefore, the research about the family root is becoming trend in some parts of the world. This essay aims to explain more about the reason behind this trend and the standpoint of views about it.

In this modern era, some people realize about the urgency of knowing the family background. To fulfill their curiosity and satisfaction, people will do everything to reveal the complete history of their ancestors. Basically, there are three main motives behind this: firstly, people want to know about their original identity and their social levels among societies. For instance, they want to know if they are one of the decent or historical family members. Secondly, they anxiously want to understand about their potential skills from their first ancestors. In example the musician family tends to regenerate their ability to their beneficiaries, such as Bethoven and Mozart. In addition, they want to recognize their other relatives to expand their family links.

On the other hand, there are some impacts from the family lineage research which can be either positive or negative toward society development. From the positive point of view, the family research becomes the urgent thing to do to acknowledge the history of their fore-elder. By doing that, they will respect and esteem their family members. But from the negative perspective, the family root exploration will develop the ethnocentrism from some family toward others in society that will trigger social conflicts in societies.

In sum up, there are some different standpoints about family roots in society depend on their purpose to investigate their family background. So that, that activity should be used properly and should not be abused.