Some people believe that the best time for a person to learn a new language is when he/she is a child. Others feel adults learn languages better and faster than children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

There has been a considerable discussion among masses with regard to language learning. Some of the people favour that childhood is an ideal period for learning a new language while others believe that wisdom acquired in adulthood period makes this learning easier and swifter. In my view, both periods have the significant importance in a learner's life. In this essay, I shall examine both the aspects of the argument.

Those who consider childhood time as the best for language learning base their argument on the fact that during this period of person's age, human beings can easily learn and grasp new things. As the mind of the child is like a clear slate, he or she can easily learn the new language symbols and can easily assimilate them in a correct manner which will lead to lifetime learning. For example, a child studying in English medium school has good command on English language than the child who is studying in Hindi Medium school in the countries like India.

There are, however, equally strong arguments on the other side of the debate. The opponents favour that adults can better learn new language as they can easily transfer their knowledge from one situation to another. But this depends on person to person. Those who have strong base of knowledge can learn new things in a better way while others may feel difficulty in grasping new language. For example, who want to clear IELTS exam can easily prepare if they have good base of English language from their schooling.

In the end, I would conclude by saying that both adulthood and childhood periods have the utmost importance in human learning. However, I believe that choosing right thing to learn at the right time of age is significant.