Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

High school students have to participate in some community services without being paid as a part of their curriculums. Numerous positive points can be considered to support this statement; however, this assertion can be rejected by looking at it from another point of view. In what follows, I am going to discuss this issue from both angles.

To begin with, it is argued that tooking place in voluntary community services is not only educational, but also entertaining. It helps to think of students who participate in improving the neighbourhood. They learn many skills such as painting, and carpentering. Besides, they have a chance to renew their friendships, and have some fun with their friends as well. After considering these facts, it is obvious why many gravitate towards making these activities a compulsory part of high school programmes.

However, it is believed that if students do not gain any money, they will lose their motivation, and will not participate effectively in these programmes as well because salary is an important motivator. One example is sufficed to illustrate the point. For instance, if students must go and work for a charity, it is possible that they do not show what they know. Besides, their actions may cause some people change their minds about participating in the charity; hence, it is clear why making students to participate in these programmes can be counterproduct.

To sum up, no one can deny the merits of participating in community services for high school students; however, I personally think that it is better to encourage them to participate rather than push them to participate since it seems more advantageous.