Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children)

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that high school students should be involved in unpaid community service as a compulsory part of high school programmes. Most of the schools are already providing such opportunities of work, however they are usually nonobligatory. Personally, I believe that it is a great idea and such classes should be mandatory.

First of all, school is supposed to educate its pupils about all aspects of life and helping other people is one of them. One might say that high school plays a crucial role in child’s life. For instance, working for a charity may be a life changing experience for many young people. It might teach them about the value of work and even encourage them to do more of such activities.

Secondly, teenagers suffer from boredom and community service is a great way to effectively spend free time with their peers. Experts state that when young people have too much spare time they tend to do irresponsible or even illegal things. Compulsory work could prevent them from committing crimes. As a result, it may reduce the crime rate in their age group.

In addition, community service is a great opportunity to gain work experience. As we all know, no one gets a job without a evidence that they acquired some practical knowledge. Consequently, it is not easy for young people to find their first job. Charity work may be an asset on their CV and will help them to expand their future career prospects.

To sum up, above mentioned arguments prove that community service should be compulsory in high schools. I strongly believe that it will help young people in many aspects of their lives. Moreover, the society could benefit from it as its future generation would grow up for well-behaved citizens.