Some people say that mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and public transport. Do you agree or disagree?

The issue of the influence of mobile phones is widely discussed all over the world. Some feel that mobile phones can be used everywhere, while others find this trend irritating and argue with them. In my opinion, mobile phones can be used in public places, but the length of conversations should be restricted.

We must admit that mobile phones started a new era in communication, making it more affordable for everyone. It is true that mobile conversations can be heard in any public places like clinics, libraries, shops and public transport. I understand how people feel when they are on the bus reading newspapers, when one of the passengers starts an endless telephone talk, revealing all the details of his date and giggling all the time. Needless to say, that this kind of behaviour is anti-social. Another example may be watching a movie at the cinema, and suddenly your neighbour's phone rings because he has forgotten to turn it off. No doubt it is total disrespect to others.

It is true that mobile phones have become an essential part of our life, consequently there must be certain rules, regulating conversations. It would be a good idea to determine three possible zones. The first zone is your private property and no one is going to interfere it. The second one might be places like parks, beaches and playgrounds. There you could talk for approximately five minutes. And finally, there is the third zone with places like public transport, hospitals and libraries, where you can have a limit of one minute.

It would be unreasonable to neglect all the advantages related to mobile communication. Somebody’s life can be saved thanks to a short phone call to the ambulance. A teenager’s parents may have peace of mind at last after a sleepless night having heard their offspring’s voice. The list of similar situations might be endless. It is clear that the society must work out acceptable rules and settle the right balance. If a person is educated and respects others, he will never listen to loud music , keep long talks on the phone or laugh constantly, because he cares about others. It is a question of inner culture. But if he belongs to another group whose behaviour is unacceptable, this person has to pay a penalty. I am sure that having paid it twice, next time he will double think about it.

Overall, using of mobile phones in public places has to be restricted. The city authorities should work out the rules of using mobile phones to ease the tense in the society.