Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to.

How true is the statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments?

As the demand of creation for human is increasing, tourism has become one of the most developed industries in the world. However, along with the rapid growth, many people criticize that tourism caused various negative effects on the host country. Although this statement may be true to some extent, but I personally think that tourism has its two-sided impact, meaning this industry can bring people both benefits and drawbacks.

In terms of economy, tourism contributes to the economic growth of the local thanks to the tourist’s consumption of local products. Indeed, when travelling, tourists are likely to spend much money on food, accommodation, souvenir gifts, etc., helping to add a significant increase in local people’s income. Moreover, tourism assists the country in handling with unemployment by creating a variety of jobs opportunities. People can find plenty of well-paid jobs related to this industry such as tour guide, tourist service officer, etc. Also, tourism facilitates the culture exchange between visitors and local people. The indigenous ones can learn new languages, make new friends and get exposed to different traditions, leading to a deep understanding and a bond relationship between different countries in the world. However, the rise in the number of people travelling can damage the environment and destroy the pristine landscape of tourist attractions because of the garbage from tourists as well as the excessive exploit of the local authority. More importantly, the regular exposure to different cultural identities can make the local lose their own one.

It is crucial that tourists have to take action to minimize the harmful impact on the places they travel to. They should be aware of keeping all the properties of tourist attractions intact and not littering along their tour. They also have to respect local people as well as their customs and traditions. Only by giving a hand to preserve the host country’s culture and environment that tourists can enjoy fully their travelling as well as reduce negative effects of tourism.