Some people think that teenage years are the happiest times of most people’s lives. others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibilities. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views regarding which phase of life do they enjoy the most happiness. While some vote for adolescence, I am on board with those who argue for adulthood.

Advocates who consider teenager time as the most satisfying period of life argue that teenagers not only are free from responsibilities but also have goals to work towards. More often than not, it is parents who pay for teenagers’ tuition fee as well as take care of their life, so teenagers are allowed to study without pressure and fully enjoy their life. Also, having set stretch goals of being enrolled by their dream university, the youth in secondary education tend to be more motivated and fully committed, therefore leading a fulfilled life. According to a poll conducted by Queen’s university in 2015, 58% of interviewees wished to take the time machine and travel back to their 16s, as it is both entertaining and hopeful.

Conversely, some people are of the opinion that adulthood is more rewarding than any other stages of life, as they can feel valued in work and free in life. When working in a company, despite of different work-related pressure, employees contribute to their customers, companies as well as society, so there are more chances that they would feel valued and foster a sense of achievement. Also, having being paid with decent salaries, adults would have more freedom to pursue their interests which they might be forced to give up because of academic study or other reasons. For example, after work for 3 years, I picked up my hobby of modern dance by paying to attend courses regularly after work. Such satisfaction of independence and freedom outweighs all the burdens from work.

To conclude, even though teenager life is believed to be careless and hopeful, I enjoy adult life more because of the priceless feelings of being valued and independence.