Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in workplace. Others believe that the true function of universities should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

The issue of primary function of a university has become controversial recently. There are numerous conflicting ideas between those who claim universities should prepare students for jobs by learning them information which is more needed, and others who state that universities should provide information regardless of whether it is beneficial to an employer. In what follows, both these viewpoints will first discussed, and then my own position would be delineated.

To begin with, on one side of the argument there are people who argue that the benefits of providing work related skills in universities outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for supporting this idea is that they think people's main reason for getting a university degree is finding a better job; therefore, people should learn skills and knowledge which they need in their future job. It helps to think of an architect. As far as he needs to use computer to prepare plans for contractors, if he has an intimate knowledge of using computer to do so, he will find better job, and can do his job better as well; hence, it is obvious why this idea is agreed with by many.

On the other hand, others believe universities should not opt learning materials based on work needs because it is possible that some students are keen on doing research and becoming a scholar rather than becoming an employer. Also, it is probable that some creative students can use the knowledge which is not used in industry right now and find new methods to do the jobs easier and faster; consequently, providing knowledge and skills needed in the work place causes stopping creativity or ignoring all students' interests. After considering these facts, it is clear why many gravitate towards this point of view.

To sum up, no one can deny the merits of providing the information and skills needed in the industry by universities; however, I personally believe that students should have access to knowledge for its own sake since it seems more advantageous.